The Fearful, The Happily Absent, And The Close-Minded.

I asked a Christian friend the other day to read a blog post called “God Doesn’t Care About Us” and she refused, flat out. She said that she “respects my opinion, but believes in a god of love”. Why do so many people find it hard to read anything contrary to their belief system? Is it fear that they could be wrong? Or is it that they don’t care if reality doesn’t line up with their heads at any point? Maybe they are just so confident that they feel no need to read such things, as they must be lies.

I think that the answer depends on the individual, and most of the time you can tell what kind of Christian you are dealing with by listening to them talk. Some people will get agitated quickly and either explode or shut down when confronted with evidence or logic that contradicts their belief system. These people fit into the “fear of being wrong” group. I have talked to many Christians of this nature.

The next type of Christian is generally up-beat and happy, and it seems as though nothing can bring them down. When confronted, unlike the “fear of being wrong” group, they will smile and say that god loves you anyway, which is followed by a quick change of subject. This is the “don’t care if reality doesn’t line up with their heads” group. I also know many of this type.

The third type will act much like the “fear of being wrong”, but without the ability to shut down or give up. They will fight you tooth and nail, and never concede defeat. These people are so closed-minded that they wouldn’t be able to see they were wrong if their life depended on it. Which, by the way, they see as a good thing. This group is the “so confident that they feel no need” and they are, by far, the majority in my neck of the woods.

In the end there are three types of Christians, the fearful, the happily absent from reality, and the close-minded. But the effect is the same, a total unwillingness to look at the truth sitting right in front of them.

4 responses to “The Fearful, The Happily Absent, And The Close-Minded.

  1. I asked a friend recently if he would allow even the slightest possibility that his god was imaginary. He said no. To me, that says more than enough about his open-mindedness (to which he accuses me of having none at all.)

    I’ve never considered different “types” as you have put it. But my experience has shown it to be accurate!

  2. I certainly agree with the final half of the final line in your diatribe. Sometimes people are so sure of what’s real, that no one will convince them otherwise, and they often take pleasure in getting their opinion out there in front of people and shoving it down throats when given even the slightest of argument against their unprovable claims. Certainly takes a lot of faith to cling to beliefs that are founded on mere evidences without solid proof.

  3. theagnosticswife

    I was part of “the fearful” and the “happily absent” group, but know several “close minded”.

  4. I have to say, well done. I have “suffered” through these groups. it is funny though when you ask them to read something other that complimentary to their belief you are immediately shot down. They then turn around and offer that you read some apologetic’s book and then look down on you when you have said:

    I’ve read it and it useless.

    or

    No thanks.

    I have a certain someone in mind that always “directs” me to a certain author/apologist. I ask this certain someone if they have read the book they are trying to push on me. The answer is usually “No. I don’t need to read it. But I hear it is excellent.”

Leave a Reply

