Do we actually think people are going to change their minds?

What is the point of all of this? Are we debating for the sake of the debate or do we actually think religious people are going to change their minds? Are we debating because it is fun? I hope so, because they are not going to be persuaded by any amount of logic or reason that all gods are imaginary. They don’t need proof to believe and they see that as a virtue. I was a Christian once, but I no longer understand how this faith thing works. We are born with five senses. Faith demands that we ignore them and adopt a different “reality”, one we can not see or touch, taste or smell, one we need to “feel” with our “hearts”. What does that even mean? Anybody can make up an imaginary world and claim it is real. When a single person, or small group do this they are labeled crazy or called a cult, and rightly so. What is the difference between them and the major world religions? Size? If it is size, how many people need to believe something before it is true?
Anyway, my point is this: what is the point in all this arguing? Nobody is really listening. Atheists because they don’t feel a need to believe unprovable things and the religious because they have been trained to believe without proof.

11 responses to “Do we actually think people are going to change their minds?

  1. Hi.
    You were a “Christian once”. What happened?

  2. I was going to ask the same question as Richard. Over coffee (or beverage of your choice). Next week. Probably Saturday.

    As for not understanding, I think you hit the nail on the head. We do have five senses with which we can experience the physical world. But faith in God transcends these senses. There is no way a believer can “prove” it using the five senses. Likewise, there is no way for an atheist to “disprove” it using the five senses.

    Thus we come to the real issue: You believe that the world stops at the end of your physical sensory input. I believe that the physical world is merely a beginning to all the rest.

    Neither of us have the ability to prove the other wrong.

    All I can do is try to make you see things from my perspective.

    jj

  3. A long painful road of disillusionment.

  4. Wingnut,
    Good point!
    Thanks

  5. Zebulonthered,
    Sorry to hear that you had “a long painful road of disillusionment”. You certainly are not the first to experiance this. I would venture to say that people were involved in this, right?

  6. Richard,
    Don’t be sorry. I’m not. Sometimes growth is painful. Of course people were involved to some extent, I don’t live in a social vacuum, but reality played a bigger roll in my personal victory over superstition and fear.

  7. I am an outspoken atheist. I don’t speak out through my blog in order to change anyone’s mind, but rather, I do it to point out the hate, bigotry, and hypocrisy from certain religious groups (not all, mind you.) I use many arguments and ideas that have been heard thousands of times, but are still worthy of pointing out. Like, “Why Didn’t God Stop The Holocaust” i f God is so loving.

    I speak out because religious groups do not deserve the right to tell me that I am going to hell, or that I am evil, or hateful simply because I don’t believe that their god is real.

    No, we cannot change each others minds on a scale that is useful. But, I do know that there have been people who abandon their faith after hearing many arguments from non-believers. It does happen!

  8. good point and plus if god exists why doesn’t he just program are brains to believe in him.

  9. Thank you, Jetson. I like your point of view. Sometimes it can get depressing when everyone you know is of a different mindset than you. Also, it is a bit trying to deal with people like Richard… 🙂

  10. I think we argue because we hope to reach the people who are on the fence. I do at least. Although I’m sure most of my readers are already decidedly to one side or the other I know there are plenty of people who are in between. And its through dialogue and argument that they can choose which makes the most sense. Also by arguing and speaking out we make our presence felt, something that I believe the American (where I hail) political system needs to recognize. The key to religious truth is indoctrination, and if we can get through that than I think we hit gold. Like you know I’ve said previously zeb, indoctrination doesn’t bolster a point of view.

  11. I personally think there are a couple of reasons we keep at it. First, it is mostly amusing. There are two things I find entertaining, programming and religion. I never cease to be amazed by people’s capacity for self-deception and I really do find the arguments entertaining.

    Secondly, I know that no argument is going to make a difference on a grand scale but if just one single person reconsiders, even for a moment what they believe because of something I wrote, it will have been more than worth it.

    Very nice site, I like it a lot.

Leave a Reply

