True Peace?

Christians believe that true peace can only come from a relationship with Jesus. But wait minute, isn’t a big part of being a Christian summed up in “The Great Commission”? Otherwise known as Matthew 28:16-20. Don’t Christians have to go out and make the world believe? So really, they have two choices. The first is to follow the command Jesus gave all of his followers, and fight an endless battle to “save souls”. The second is to ignore the command and suffer the guilt that comes from disobeying god. How is there peace in either of these options? Can you have peace while fighting? No. Can you have peace while you feel guilty? No.

Could it be, and I’m just guessing here, that true peace comes from the acceptance of the fact that you can not control or change anyone but yourself and that is the only thing you are required to do?

4 responses to “True Peace?

  1. Well said. 99% agree with your summary statement. Only clarification I would add, is that you can not ultimately control or change yourself either. But you can choose to give permission for change to happen.

    Jesus described it as “humbling your Self” and “denying your Self”. Lao Tzu (Tao te Ching) described it as “non-action”. Another way to describe it could be, “non-self-assertion”. FWIW, it appears to me that most world religions embrace a similar philosophy, somewhere at their heart.

    Giving permission.. to everything.. brings great peace. A reward for generosity of spirit?

  2. @The Blissful Ignoramus
    I don’t know… It seems to me that one must act to let go of assumptions before change can happen.

  3. I cannot qualify myself in any category of faith, however, I am seeing the Biblical quote in another way. I don’t feel that we need to go out and teach others, so much as we need to live by standards which are teaching to others. The sense I have of a supreme being, is not in a book, but in the heart of one and in a connection with the universe. I do not see myself as an atheist, and yet I am not one who finds comfort in organized religion.

  4. I am not sure I understand what is being said here:

    ” you can not ultimately control or change yourself ”

    Really? Why is that?

Leave a Reply

