The Universe Was an Accident

I have been thinking more about the start of the universe thing today. Christians believe that their god created it, but I just don’t see how he could have. At least I don’t see how he could have intentionally created it. They believe that god exists outside of space-time. That he was the author of space-time. Such a thing would look good on a resume, don’t you think? I mean the guy who single-handedly invented All of Space and Time should be a shoe-in for the “god of the universe” position. Right?
But the more I think on it, the less it seems likely that the universe was anything more than a very handy accident. It all comes down to one question. What does it take to purposefully create anything? The answer is simple, a basic understanding of cause and effect is needed. For example, if I wish to make a fruit smoothy, I will need to understand the cause and effect process of running a blender. If I didn’t understand that running fruit through a blender would cause the fruit to pulverize, I could not intentionally make a smoothy. I might accidentally make one by randomly putting fruit into things and randomly hitting things, but I would be more likely to hurt myself than make a smoothy.
You might say that god understands cause and effect, but where does the concept of cause and effect come from? I argue it is a byproduct of space-time. Without time, order of progression can not be perceived, and without order of progression one can not understand what effect is made by what cause. Thus, intentional creation is impossible.
If the Christian god existed before time, how did he intentionally create the universe? If Christians are mistaken about something this fundamental, what else could they be mistaken about?

16 responses to “The Universe Was an Accident

  1. Kalam Cosmological Argument…

  2. If such an entity exsisted truly independent from space-time, why would that entity be limited by OUR limited understanding of space-time, and therefore our understanding of cause/effect?

    Pretty convenient straw-god argument if you ask me.

    jj

  3. @The Wingnut
    Thank you for your input. Maybe it is a “straw-god” argument… I don’t know. I have not see any real gods to compare. I wonder, why is it ok for you to assume that an entity independent from space-time would understand things and behave in terms of linear thought, but it is not ok for me to assume the oposite? Maybe you are right. Maybe this god of yours can funtion linearly without time. If so there is no way to explain it. How can you justify your belief?

  4. It is okay for you to assume the opposite. I’m not going to tell you what you can and cannot assume.

    My point is that a god that is dependant on our experience of reality is not much of a god, and surely not one that would be able to concieve and execute the creation of a universe such as ours.

    Thus the straw-god.

    As far as justifying my belief, I find it exceedingly difficult to accept this massive universe and the life it holds as a series of extremely fortuitous accidents and random chance.

    The fact that the Earth is just far enough away from the Sun to allow water in all three phases, the fact that the Earth is tilted on it’s axis just enough (and other planets aren’t) to allow seasonal warming and cooling without getting too hot or cold-or tidally locked, the fact that the water in the oceans contains just the right amount of salinity to promote life…I can’t just put it down as random chance. There are too many things that need to be “just right” and in fact are “just right” for me to accept random chance.

    jj

  5. @The Wingnut
    Maybe if you were to look at it from a different angle. You say there are too many things that allow life to exist on earth to be chance. But if you keep in mind that there were billions and billions of of chances for this to happen all over the universe, it seems far more likely.
    If you were to use a random number generator to generate a billion billion ten digit numbers how many times would 0123456789 come up? I can’t remember how to do the math here… Anyway it would be more than once.
    The system we see in our solar system is unlikely, but nowhere near impossible.
    If you what to look at chance, “God” is far less likely to exist than the solar system being setup by chance. He would have to be far more complex and could only happen once. It would be something like getting the number 2357111317192329313741434753596167717379838997 the first time you ran the random number generator.

  6. Hmm. I am you Zeb. Can I call you Zeb?

    I sometimes wonder if the big bang we were sprung from was actually a “small bang” in an entirely “larger” universe whose space/time we cannot begin to comprehend. I am not an astronomer or scientist (in case you couldn’t tell) but that is also possible, right? I just can’t swallow that so many believe that god created this little insignificant speck in this limitless universe we find outselves in. The more I hear a “believer” share this concept of god the more I shake my head. Straw-god? Eh. Wish-thinking.
    Period.

  7. @Mr. Atheist
    I assume you missed the “with” in there. 🙂
    Thank you for you support.

  8. You are correct. There are other solar systems with planets that fit all the requirements to promote life. We may even one day find life on these planets. But that still does not prove that Earth and life were merely random chance.

    In fact, if there is another Earth-like planet out there, supporting life and intelligence, would that not be a fairly strong indication that it was NOT random chance?

    I mean, if something as complex as life on earth happens once, hey, there’s billions of chances. But twice? Or however many times repeatedly throughout the universe? What are the chances of that?

    jj

  9. @The Wingnut
    The probability is a billion to one against. Even so, it would still happen a billion times. The universe is big… BIG.

  10. I love when detractors of reason try to use “science and math” to make their arguments seem stronger. Sorry. Even if it a 10 to the trillionth it would happen at least once and who and how are we to assume that there aren’t (weren’t)other “chance” occurrences…

  11. Hmmm… Causing the brain to go into over time, and still I haven’t a clue. I suppose I am somwhere in the middle on this one. I will listen to both sides and most likely never come to a conclusion, even with all of the possibilities & probabilities set before me.

  12. @Mr. Atheist
    Wait, I thought before the big bang there was nothing. Not some big void universe… nothing. The big bang created the universe.

    I get what you’re saying about imagining that our big bang is just part of a larger universe… but, the concept of the big bang is The Big Bang. The bang that created the universe. Nothing before… just infinite potential.

  13. @bradley
    I was trying to demonstrate that an infinite being could not intentionally create anything. I do not personally think there is such a being. The more I think about it the less it seems likely. The more I think about it the less it seems to matter.

  14. To Bradley – All I meant was was the big bang could have taken place “some where” not just nowhere.

  15. uh oh. here comes the “how can you believe that something comes from nothing argument” again. Sorry Zeb. Or should I just say Zorry.

  16. @Mr. Atheist
    Yeah, I understood what you were saying. I was just reiterating that the big bang, as a concept, is the start of all existence… not just our little corner that we can see or theorize. 😀

Leave a Reply

