Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance Quote#3

You are never dedicated to something you have complete confidence in. No one is fanatically shouting that the sun is going to rise tomorrow. They know it’s going to rise tomorrow. When people are fanatically dedicated to political or religious faiths or any other kinds of dogmas or goals, it’s always because these dogmas or goals are in doubt

4 responses to “Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance Quote#3

  1. Hmm,

    It would be hard to agree completely with that post. Maybe to a degree.

    But first, consider sports. I am dedicated to my team. I get excited. But I always have a doubt if my team will win.

    Just a thought,
    Glen

  2. @Glen
    But if your team won every time, would you stay dedicated? Or would you get used to the fact that they can not loss and find something more interesting to do?

  3. So You’re saying it’s the doubt that makes Christianity interesting? I have doubts. But if I knew I could walk on water, you are saying it would become a bore? OK, I can see that. But…

    I have met Christians that say they have no doubts, and I believe most of them. Not all, but I have met a few that I thought really would try to walk on water.

    No I don’t think doubt is a good way to describe it. I would say that the major of the young ones experimenting with the occult have a lot of doubts.

    Glen

Leave a Reply

