Random Atheist Question #10

Why would an all knowing, all powerful, and perfect being need worship?

7 responses to “Random Atheist Question #10

  1. MenAfterGod.com

    Christians may not like this answer Zeb, but it fits.

    Think of a rock star who has everything. What’s left to desire but the admiration of the fans, or in God’s case, the love of His creations.

    Glen
    “Lov’n the Lord & Liv’n the Life…”

  2. @MenAfterGod.com
    I don’t know. Rock stars are far from perfect. Perfect would imply the lack of nothing. Rock starts get to the top just to find that it is empty, so they try to fill that emptiness with drugs and admiration. We have all seen this over and over. A real musician only wants to make music.

  3. I don’t know about that… Muse is as close to perfect as I can think. 😀

    “Perfect would imply the lack of nothing.”

    That reminded me of some verses.

    Psalm 34:9 “Fear the LORD, you his saints, for those who fear him lack nothing.”
    -So let’s look at what the Bible says about God being perfect…

    2Samuel 22:31 “As for God, his way is perfect…”
    –so his “way” is perfect… so let’s look at Christ…

    Mark 10:18 “And Jesus said, ‘Why do you call Me good? No one is good except God alone’
    —OK, so Christ bowing down before God is an example of perfect, which fits well with the first verse we looked at…

    So it seems the bible is saying that worshiping and acknowledging the perfection of our creator is the perfect way to live. Sorry, that doesn’t really help with why God needs us to worship him. It does offer some insight into why WE need us to, though. I bet Glen can shed some light as to why the actual act of worshiping God is perfect.

  4. @bradley
    I wonder what Gandalf has to say about perfection….

  5. I am reminded of the verse, Matthew I believe: Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect”. So we are taught to live our lives in the pattern of GOD. to seek perfection, which makes me a bit NUTZ, cause if GOD is the ONLY one who is PERFECT, and even Jesus was not perfect, then how can man achieve perfection? Not an answer to the question, but yet another question.

  6. I don’t think God needs us to worship Him. That is us wondering why God needs us. The fact is God doesn’t need us. Rather we need to worship Him. We need to live our life for Him. When ever we don’t (which is most of the world), when we are left up to our own devices, history will prove we screw the world up more.

    So your question is an not build on a correct premise.

    Here’s a question though, why would someone who doesn’t believe something be so obsessed with trying to disprove it? When I have glanced at your blog it seems you are upset with this God you claim not to believe in. I could be wrong, and it’s your blog so I’m sure you’ll disagree with me…but when I was away from God, I would find every passionate Christian or youth pastor out there and show them how much I didn’t serve their God. As if it would serve God right if I put down His people.

    So good luck with your blog and all your “non-believing” questions.

  7. John ~ Thank you for your comment. I see the point you are trying to make about people needing to worship god, but I don’t think it flies. People who believe in gods are just as likely to mess things up as those who do not.

    I am tired of explaining that I don’t believe in gods, so watch this video if you really wish to understand. 🙂

    If you look at more of my posts you may find that I am not angry with your god. I have been in the past but I moved away from that mind set to a new one. Please read some of my newer posts and have a good night.

Leave a Reply

