What I Believe

I took one of those online tests the other day. It told me that of all the major world religions I fit best into three. The top two are not actually religions, but what can you do?
I scored 95% agnostic, 90% atheist, and 85% Buddhist. I think this is an accurate measurement of how I look at the world. I thought that today I would lay out a brief description of what I believe.

First, I believe that our understanding of the universe is far to limited to make any 100% positive statements about it’s total nature or origins. Maybe everything is here because of some unintelligent physical process (read big bang). Maybe a being of some kind made what we see as the universe. Maybe a being of some kind used an unintelligent physical process to create everything. Or maybe it was something else that is so far beyond our over-clocked monkey minds we can not even think about dreaming about hoping to understand it. Who can tell? What is the point of wild guesses based on assumptions?

Secondly, I believe that if a being of some kind did make the universe, we haven’t seen it yet or if we have we have yet to grok it.
It would seem to me that if there was a all loving, all powerful, all knowing, perfect being out there, it would not care what we thought of it or care if we thought of it. It would not need our praise and devotion either… Think about it.

Thirdly, I believe that everything in the universe can be described with mathematics. Everything from Trees to houses to sea turtles to galaxies to love. Everything. I also believe that we are not yet capable of such mathematics… Our brains are to slow. But someday if we don’t blow ourselves up first, we might get there.

Fourthly, I believe that the scientific method is the best thing we have come up with yet. It have advanced our understanding of just about everything from the cosmos to biological processes.

Fifthly, I believe that logic is not the end point of human thought. There must be something else beyond logic as we know it because there are places where logic breaks down. Men have gone mad at the edge of logical understanding. Also, logic can be used to prove or disprove just about anything. Witch is one of the reasons things never get resolved.

Sixthly, I believe that there is a understanding before thought that is hard to find and impossible to explain. Because there is a thing and there is our thoughts about that thing. The two are rarely the same.

I am sure there is more that I can’t think of right now, so if I think of anything else I will add it to the comments or something. If there are any questions, PLEASE feel free to ask. πŸ™‚

8 responses to “What I Believe

  1. So, where did you take this test? I would like to know just where I stand in this world of beliefs.

  2. Google this:

    Which is the right religion for you? (new version)

    That should take you to the right place.

  3. Very nice, Zeb. I need a little time to do it any justice. Too much “How to train your dragon” in 3D, at the moment. πŸ˜€

    I scored 90% Christian, 80% Buddhist, and 70% Judaism. No surprise there. πŸ˜‰

  4. My wife scored 95% pagan, 95% agnostic, and 90% atheist. It seems to be a pretty accurate test. She has been known to frolic in the woods on occasion. πŸ˜‰

  5. Christianity
    70%
    Islam
    55%
    Agnosticism
    55%
    Confucianism
    50%
    Hinduism
    50%
    Buddhism
    45%
    Judaism
    45%
    Satanism
    40%
    Paganism
    35%
    Atheism
    25%
    Haruhism
    20%

    I guess I am a Christian Sadist……

    God speaks though the mouths of many prophets. With respect to other religious views, I lean towards Christianity. But it has been distorted from it’s original teachings. This is found in many written religious works. They are all filled with contradictions. We each find TRUTH in our own personal way…… in spite of the contradictions.

    Thoughtful post, Zeb!

  6. Nothing beats some Saturday morning coffee-and-bs-typing.

    It has to be hard to try to sum up your world view in a blog, when there is no broad group template to start with. Or maybe you do have a template, I don’t know… I’m just going to assume you don’t. It’s weird, I guess, but I agree with most of your approach, only finding questions or tension around a few things… and I’m a Christian. (Some people try to distance themselves from the “Christian” title by saying Christ Follower, or something like that… I don’t mind it, if some other people calling themselves Christians act in an unchristian manner, giving all christians a bad name… that’s no reflection on me. I’m a Christian that gives others a bad name as well).

    Your first tenant is great. I don’t know how anyone can go through life assuming they know it all. That has to be a very bull-headed person to laugh in the face of opposition, or extremely fortunate to never be called out. As long as that person doesn’t attempt to impose the 100% knowledge on all mankind, they may actually have the secret to individual happiness and peace of mind. Being certain you know it all must be relaxing, you know? However, I have quite a bit of peace knowing no one will ever know it all. But, I guess that’s the exact same thing. doh…

    Second tenant I agree with, but I see God’s opinion of us a little differently. It may seem like God wouldn’t care about us. But, if life was simply true/false. 1 being life, 0 being death… 1 being love, 0 being no love… 1 being obeying nature, 0 being rebellion… it seems logical, with my limited noobical knowledge of C, that God reacts based on our actions. Whether there is supreme love beyond an involuntary response, there’s no way to know. We can only assume love because it started with an original True statement… we were created, life.

    I love the third tenant. I’m sad at, “But someday if we don’t blow ourselves up first, we might get there”. I hope we don’t. It’s easy to think our individual actions don’t make a difference to all mankind. But, if those actions are repeated by billions of people worldwide, it’s bound to make an impact. Doesn’t bode well for mankind 😦 That’s just my opinion though.

    Fourth, very handy approach to making progress. It got me thinking, though. As long as we keep going back and testing our old conclusions, we’ll keep going. Wouldn’t it be horrible if all the sudden we established 2010 scientific knowledge as an institution? Ugh… no wisdom… just the knowledge.

    Fifth, right on. The problem with logic is it’s programmed. Program the logic differently, and the logic changes. We are easily programmed.

    Lastly, I think you’re getting into “reality”. I don’t have anything intelligent to say about that. πŸ˜€ I think I’ve explained myself before, elsewhere maybe.

    Thanks for sharing, zeb.

  7. Bradley ~ Thank you for taking the time to read and reply. I do not have a template. In fact I was just thinking about how I missed a few things. I may have to add an update to the end.

  8. Here was my score and the text that was presented to me.

    I disagree with my results. Satanism is somehow included in this and just seems “evil”. πŸ™‚

    I am an Atheist, not an agnostic. It was an interesting test to say the least. Some of the questions were poorly written but I understood the premise. Thanks ZEB for turning us on to this quiz.
    You Scored as Agnosticism
    You scored as agnosticism. You are an agnostic. Though it is generally taken that agnostics neither believe nor disbelieve in God, it is possible to be a theist or atheist in addition to an agnostic. Agnostics do not know or claim to know whether or not God exists, but could admit that someone else might know. An intellectually honest agnostic would have to take that position, as he has no more evidence of the impossibility of knowing God than he has of the existence of God. Agnosticism is a philosophy that God’s existence is not proven. Some say it is possible to be agnostic and follow a religion; however, one cannot be a devout believer if he or she does not truly believe.

    Agnosticism
    100%
    Satanism
    90%
    Paganism
    60%
    Atheism
    50%
    Buddhism
    50%
    Hinduism
    30%
    Christianity
    15%
    Haruhism
    10%
    Islam
    0%
    Confucianism
    0%
    Judaism
    0%

Leave a Reply

