Random Christian Question #1

Please explain what Atheism is.

“Atheism is commonly defined as the position that there are no deities.[1] It can also mean the rejection of belief in the existence of deities.[2] A broader definition is simply the absence of belief that any deities exist.[3]”
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atheism

This is the first in a new series of questions from Christian to atheists. Atheists, please feel free to add your input on this topic. Christians, please post your own questions about atheism here.

7 responses to “Random Christian Question #1

  1. I have a follow-up!

    How is it, then, that atheists, who deny the presence of anything divine, can still be spiritual?

    I, for one, do not see how one can deny the existence of all deities, yet still have a desire to be spiritual.

    It would seem to me that the two go hand in hand.

    jj

  2. I like the simplicity of this post. šŸ™‚

    So many people, when they find out that I’m atheist, will make a comment along the lines of, “Oh no you’re not.”

    “Yeah? Oh yes I am!”

    It’s a pretty extraordinary phenomenon. I mean, I don’t go bumping into religious folk and say things like, “You are faking your beliefs.”

    The reaction when people find out I’m vegetarian is remarkably similar. “Oh God why???”

  3. omg… Why would you go “bumping into folks?” I don’t believe you.

  4. Wingnut ~ Hi.
    Maybe you have a limited understanding of what spiritual is. I would say that it would be anything that connects us to the universe in a deep way. I don’t see why a deity would be needed for that. Do you?
    It does seem that most people have a desire for a deep connection and it does seem that gods help people feel a form of that connection. God worship may even be the easiest way to feel it. Does that make god worship the only valid form of spiritual? No, I don’t think so. Also, just because it is the easiest you may then think that is it the rightest. Maybe it is, but then the easy road is seldom the right one. šŸ™‚

    Shout ~ Thank you. I try to keep things simple.

  5. Z,

    I don’t think my understanding of spirituality is limited any more than yours is. Different, of course, but not neccessarily more limited or less limited.

    My belief is that God is the source of human spirituality.

    Can you have spirituality without recognizing God? Of course you can, because humans have a spiritual nature.

    But to me, the very fact that humans can recognize the spiritual reality is indicative that there is something more, deeper, more true than the physical world.

    You say that God is not needed to feel a deep connection with the universe. I say that God is the reason we feel this deep connection with the universe.

    jj

  6. Well… that just sounds like different languages.
    Like, “hola means hola”… “No, hello means hello”… “/sigh, no… hola means hola”… “NO!!1! hello means hello”

    Theists just believe… or at least I believe, that there’s also a lot more discovery about the spirit. And, christians believe that discovery is written about in the bible. I, personally, share my faith in that discovery because it has helped me, and I think it could help others.

    Is there any further discovery about that spirit that could help me?… in reference to the “question for atheists”.

  7. Reality is Reality, regardless of what “we” say it is haha. Its as simple as that. Atheists have it wrong, but heres a little secret, so does everybody else. You didn’t see Buddha talking about Buddhism, and you didn’t see Jesus Converting people to Christianity.. but you did see them both have very similar characteristics, as in telling what was, speaking Truth as Truth, and obliterating ignorance.

    I don’t see there being a need to either question deity or non-deity because there is no such thing as neither, there is no link because there has never been the separation. Of course having the belief is fine, because its just as meaningless as any other concept or theory, so believing in atheism or any other religion won’t really make a lick of difference then what you have always been your whole life. You just need to wipe the dirt off that mirror and see your own reflection.

    Your not a sheep, Your a Lion. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

