BSG Quote #1

God’s not on any one side. God is a force of nature. Beyond good and
evil. Good and evil–we created those. Want to break the cycle? Break the
cycle of birth, death, rebirth, destruction, escape, death? That’s in
our hands, in our hands only. It requires a leap of faith. It requires
that we live in hope, not fear.

7 responses to “BSG Quote #1

  1. It’s easy for people to claim that God is on their side. Humans seem inclined to make claims about God, to claim that they know something of a being that they’ve never seen and never communicated with.

    I think this all plays into a self-serving religion that worships not God but humans. When humans becomes the deliver of God’s will, and in order to know God’s will you must trust these humans, then, effectively, these humans become God.

  2. Wow Zeb, so sad to see this is where you are spiritually… and I say that because the Bible (as you know) declares that there is only one way to abundant life and true hope (Jesus!) and as someone who believes that, it is only natural that I would be sad about your beliefs. I assume that your lovely wife is pretty much on the same page with you?

    I think the important question is not whether God is on my (or your) side. The important question is whether I am (or you are), by God’s grace, on God’s side (the Kingdom of light). And according to the Bible, there most definitely are sides (and they are much bigger than us)…

    Speaking of people who love Jesus, the Bible says in Ephesians 6:12, “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the powers, against the world forces of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of wickedness in the heavenly places,” and in Colossians 1:13-14,
    “For He rescued us from the domain of darkness, and transferred us to the kingdom of His beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.”

    And so, for each of us, finding out which side we are on comes down to what we believe about Jesus… The lunatic? The liar? Or the Lord?

    Well, Happy Birthday & Happy 4th!

  3. Hi Jackie, I am sad to see where you are spiritually also. I remember when you expressed original ideas instead of regurgitating tired platitudes.

    I know I am running the risk of offending you, and I am sorry if I have, but if you can say such things then I guess I can too.

    I am tired of arguing with Christians about this stuff. It is so pointless. You can not or will not see the world form any other point of view. Which would be fine if you could just let people who believe differently be.

    Here is a link to a post I wrote some time ago. Please feel free to read it. Maybe you will see where I am coming from… But maybe not. 🙂
    https://zebulonthered.wordpress.com/2010/02/14/linux-model-of-reality-unification-theory/

    I hope you had a great 4th

    Peace,
    Zeb

  4. I am not offended. I hope that you are not. I thought that when you publicly post your ideas, as you have, that that was an invitation for discussion, even from those who disagree. Sorry if I misunderstood.

    I did read your linux model of reality. It seems as though you would prefer that I not respond though, so I’ll save my fingers.

    I do not consider the logical truth that has set me free, and given me peace and hope, and that is transforming me, to be tired platitudes. And you are right I will not believe another view. The Bible claims to be written by God. It speaks of a Man who is God. And it declares that there is a way to have a relationship with God. If I believe that those claims and the Bible in its entirety is true, I would be a fool to look elsewhere. I am sure that you realize that if the Bible is true, your views lead to hell, and if your beliefs are true, I will be just fine no matter what I believe.

    Anyway, you are perfectly free to believe, whatever you wish, and I don’t really see how my dissenting view interferes with that freedom at all. But if you prefer that I refrain from posting anything, just let me know. Please do understand my heart though. I am not trying to be argumentative. If Jesus is our only hope, I’d be a complete jerk not to try to persuade others (that’d be like watching a blind man run out in front of a fast moving semi, and not helping because the blind man didn’t see the danger).

    So, who do you think Jesus was anyway?

    Glad to hear you are nearly done with school–very exciting! Give your family a hug for me. We did have a very fun 4th of July-thanks!

  5. Jackie,

    We seem to misunderstand one another. 🙂
    By all means say what you wish. I do not censor comments and like to have open honest discussion.

    It is just that I have learned (through experience) that the average Christian is incapable of seeing the world from a different point of view. So I try not to argue with them. It is a pointless waste of time.

    I like your Semi-truck analogy. But what if the truck isn’t really there? What if you just think you see one and are freaking out the “blind” guy for nothing? Just a thought.

    So, who do I think Jesus was anyway? …..

    I would say that there is not enough real data about the man to say for sure. But most likely he was just one of many messiah-prophets of that time who gained popularity with his unusual ideas. Of course, he may not have ever really existed at all. And if he did, the Church would have exaggerated his attributes… There is also some compelling evidence that Jesus may have been a Buddhist.

  6. I can see the world from a different point of view… I just can’t believe it 🙂

    1 Cor 15:14-19 says, “and if Christ has not been raised, then our preaching is vain, your faith also is vain. Moreover we are even found to be false witnesses of God, because we testified against God that He raised Christ, whom He did not raise, if in fact the dead are not raised. For if the dead are not raised, not even Christ has been raised; and if Christ has not been raised, your faith is worthless; you are still in your sins. Then those also who have fallen asleep in Christ have perished. If we have hoped in Christ in this life only, we are of all men most to be pitied.” Even the Bible attests that these type of discussions are a pointless waste of time if your view is correct. But if the Bible is true, they are an eternal life and death issue. Romans 6:23 says, “For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

    Well, if the Semi-truck isn’t there then the blind guy probably ends up slightly annoyed but appreciative that some very confused person cared. If the Semi-truck is there, and no seeing person warns him, well, that would be just plain wicked… Unless we are all atheists… after all, survival of the fittest, right? And what right would anyone have then to say something I do is wicked if there is no absolute moral standard? Anyway, that was just an analogy to show my motivation… one now taken in a totally different direction.

    You do know that there is plenty of extra-biblical evidence that Jesus really did exist? Much of which was written by secular and often anti-Christian historians near the time of Christ, and who made reference to his extraordinary ministry and unique life without believing that he was any sort of messiah. It really would be a huge jump to say that he never existed as far as history goes. Peter, a man who walked with Jesus, wrote about 30 years after Jesus crucifixion, and before Peter, himself, was crucified, “For we did not follow cleverly devised tales when we made known to you the power and coming of our Lord Jesus Christ, but we were eyewitnesses of His majesty.” in 2 Peter 1:16. Luke 1:1-4 says, “Inasmuch as many have undertaken to compile an account of the things accomplished among us, just as those who from the beginning were eyewitnesses and servants of the word have handed them down to us, it seemed fitting for me as well, having investigated everything carefully from the beginning, to write it out for you in consecutive order, most excellent Theophilus; so that you might know the exact truth about the things you have been taught.”
    The people who recorded the life and death of Jesus, were not writing it several hundred years later trying to make it sound believable. The early Christians were men and women who suffered enormously and died torturous deaths because of testifying about Jesus. Many were eyewitnesses of his ministry. Others just couldn’t deny the outstanding evidence. Besides that, the gospel is radically different than the kind of myth that has been created in other religions. It’s just not the kind of thing men would make up… that we are wretched people who are powerless to save ourselves.

    The teachings of Buddha and Jesus are very different so I am curious what the “compelling evidence” that Jesus was a Buddhist would be, and of course He couldn’t be a Buddhist if he didn’t exist. Many deny who Jesus is or ignore him, but the evidence coming from the people who lived during His time points to the truth of the Biblical claims. He has impacted humanity more than any man who has ever lived and ought not to be flippantly dismissed. His life, death and resurrection demands a response, and my hope would be that it would be a response of faith. Sorry this got so long 🙂 I am too wordy. Hope you and the fam have a good week!

  7. Hi Jackie,
    In the future if you feel that you are getting a little wordy you could always leave out the bible quotes. 🙂 I find it interesting that so many people use the bible to argue their case when the people their are talking to do not believe the bible is anything more than an old book. You can believe what ever you wish about it, that is your right. Others believe something else, that is our right. I have read the bible many times, I know what it says. I just don’t buy it. You do and that is fine, but way does every one else need to buy into it too? I am happy that you are happy. Can you do the same for me? I have never felt more at peace. I know what you would say but it is just not true. I am not deceived. I am awake for the first time in my life. I am sorry if you can’t accept that. I love you anyway. 🙂

    My first inclination was to say nothing because I think it very likely that you will not hear me anyway. But I need to respond to some of the things you have written.

    The first think you said was, “If the Semi-truck is there, and no seeing person warns him, well, that would be just plain wicked… Unless we are all atheists… after all, survival of the fittest, right? And what right would anyone have then to say something I do is wicked if there is no absolute moral standard?”
    You are saying that atheists have no sense of right and wrong. That they are amoral or immoral people. How many atheists do you know? Have any of them tried to kill you for you sandwich? You know survival of the fittest? That is crap. Saying atheists are amoral or immoral is like saying that African Americans are lazy. It is a sick stereotype and not true. Gandhi did not believe in your god, was he amoral or immoral? Or does his belief in mythical creatures put him in the “Good People” club?

    Next you say,”You do know that there is plenty of extra-biblical evidence that Jesus really did exist?”
    Is there? Really? I once believed there was too. But when I when to look for it I found next to nothing. Have you heard of Philo? No, not the dough. 🙂 He was a historian for the time when Jesus was “alive”. He wrote extensively about the religious and political life of the area where Jesus was “from”… He never mention him… Odd. In fact other than a few forgeries no one did for something like 100 years or more.

    You also mention that the gospels where written by people who knew Jesus. Again there is overwhelming evidence that says otherwise. Even biblical scholars say so.

    The last to things I what to discuss are you statements:
    “The teachings of Buddha and Jesus are very different so I am curious what the “compelling evidence” that Jesus was a Buddhist would be.”

    And

    “He has impacted humanity more than any man who has ever lived and ought not to be flippantly dismissed.”

    Have you studied Buddhism? I don’t see how you could have when you say that they are “very different”. I would suggest that you read the Dhammapada, The sayings of the Buddha. It was written 400 or more years before Jesus was “born”. You might see the similarities. You could ,also, google “similarities between jesus and buddha”. Read some of the sites that come up. When it comes right down to it if you remove all of the “god” stuff from Christianity you are left with Buddhism. I don’t think that is a coincidence.
    I know that people say that Jesus impacted humanity more than any man who has ever lived. And I am not arguing that the teachings of the new testament have not. But the Buddha did just as much with a lot less bloodshed and human rights violations.

    I am not trying to cause any problems. You can believe what you like. But belief does not make the universe and no number of people with faith can change blue to green or make a round planet flat.

    Peace,
    Zeb

Leave a Reply

