Random Atheist Question #16

Christians, if you had a choice between an atheist or a Muslim to be your next business partner or room mate, which one would you choose and why?

11 responses to “Random Atheist Question #16

  1. graysandpiece

    This is a really interesting question. There are so many factors beyond religious ideology that I would look at but, for the sake of argument, let’s assume that these two people have every other thing in common. I would choose to go into business with a Muslim. I would rather be partners with someone with deep spiritual and moral convictions than someone who does not cling to a belief except the belief in unbelief. Don’t get me wrong, I have a few friends who are atheist and they still have morals but from my experience it seems that those who are religiously oriented cling to their convictions in a much deeper way. Not to mention, there are several core values that Muslims and Christians share. You know, the more I think of it, these two people could not be the same in every other way because a devout Muslim and a devout atheist would, at the core, so very different.

    Thanks for posing the question. I’m curious to hear the thoughts of others.

  2. I would pick the atheist. No religious holidays off will give more income from working more days. The Muslim and I would take time off for all of our religiuos holidays and that would be more expense. Won’t need to exchange holiday gifts or have any holiday party expense either.

  3. I would choose a Muslim. There’s just a difference between those willing to believe, and those that aren’t. There’s a solid foundation of basic, fundamental human understanding.

    To me, it’s far more rewarding to tell another believer that God actually already loves them… than trying to deal with someone unwilling to grow in Truth.

  4. MenAfterGod.com

    Having been in business several times I can tell you that Partnerships are very fragile business entities. They are much like a marriage. As long as both parties are like-minded, things run smoothly. But as time goes on things tend to change. And unlike a marriage, individuals can change easier than a business can alter its course. (For better or for worst in a business has far reaching consequent).

    Now with that aside, Christians aren’t always prefect and atheist can be some of the best business minds in the market place. Muslims however are always on the verge of greater glory, which over shadows everything else in the world, their life and the lives of those around them. Not all Muslims are terrorists. Not all Muslims will kill you. But if they truly follow the Koran, sooner are later they will be called to choose between what’s right among men and what’s commanded by Allah.

    So since I know an Atheist would only be out to make money and more money, I would have to say ATHEIST. But as with anyone, (even a Christian), I would always double-check the books.

    I also invite you to read my blog about trusting Christians: http://menaftergod.wordpress.com/2010/02/19/you-both-trust-god-should-you-trust-your-brother/

  5. I don’t believe there is enough information. What is missing is primary what exactly being a Muslim and atheist means for these people. Is the Muslim a fundamentalist? What are his moral beliefs? What are the atheist’s moral beliefs?

    If the Muslim is a fundamentalist, his holy book tells him that murdering me would be acceptable; not only acceptable, but a duty if I should fail to convert.

    “Slay them wherever ye find them and drive them out of the places whence they drove you out, for persecution is worse than slaughter. – Sura 2:191”

    Muslims are also commanded not to take Christians or Jews as friends.

    “O believers, take not Jews and Christians as friends; they are friends of each other. Those of you who make them his friends is one of them. God does not guide an unjust people. – Sura 5:54”

    The command to kill unbelievers and to avoid befriending Jews and Christians makes a business partnership with a Muslim fundamentalist unlikely, for me and, I would guess, for most non-Muslim people.

    As for the atheist, all we know is that they lack a belief in God. That tells us absolutely nothing about their character/sense of morality. I’d pick the atheist as the better bet; but that is still an uninformed decision.

  6. More information on verses in the Koran that condone violence against unbelievers and such can be found here:

    http://www.thereligionofpeace.com/Quran/023-violence.htm

  7. Mythic- Well said.

    I was wondering if anyone would bring that up. 🙂

    We seem to assume that we know what other people believe and think just by the label they choose to use for themselves.

  8. Have you read the whole Qur’an?

  9. I was actually wondering about Mystic, but have you?

  10. No, I haven’t. I own a copy, but have read very little of it.

Leave a Reply

