Migraines and Zen

Some of you may know that I suffer from migraines on a semi-regular basis. They start with a pain in the back of my head and slowly move around to my eyes. From there they travel deep into my brain. I see spots and vomit if I don’t go to sleep promptly. Historically the only cure for these attacks was to go to bed for the rest of the day. Which is a big problem when you have plans.
Yesterday I started feeling one coming one while I was out and by the time I got home I was seeing spots and feeling nauseous. As I was lying in bed I wondered to myself if Zen meditation would help. I once read somewhere that a few hours of meditation can replace a good nights sleep so I tried it. I did 15 minutes of Zen meditation and the migraine got better. Not 100%, but I felt good enough to watch a movie and have a normal evening.

7 responses to “Migraines and Zen

  1. I would love to not have to sleep all the time! I may try this…:)

    jj

  2. I think it takes years of training… But you can try. πŸ™‚

  3. I’ve been thinking that for a while now, how I should spend some time in the morning in silence. Quiet time, prayer time, meditation…When you stop to think about it, it’s really the same thing, isn’t it?

    jj

  4. Yes, prayer is a form of meditation. The only difference is focus. That is to say prayer is focused on some outside entity (real or imagined), while Zen meditation is focused on… other things, usually internal . πŸ™‚

  5. Sorry to hear about the migraine. I’ve been getting them since late teens and they’re no fun. They’ve gotten better and worse with no real understanding of why. Usually I have 2-ish a month, lasting about 2 days, or just 1 day if I wake up knowing I’ll get one.

    Some of the things I’ve noticed is I’ll get one if I sit in a room with only natural light source for too long. I know it sounds weird, but if there’s only 1 window in a room… I’m doomed. The other thing is I seem to get them just prior to a storm, like if the sky is silvery overcast. I guess it’s the same light issue. About the only thing I’ve discovered that helps is coffee. 1 cup in the morning and 1 cup around 3pm. But, now if I don’t have the caffeine I get a headache… πŸ˜€

    But a cup of coffee will reduce a migraine to an acceptable pain level in about 45 minutes, for me. I couldn’t even imagine trying to meditate. The only thing I can focus on is how much the pillow is hurting my head. πŸ˜€

  6. theagnosticswife

    Sorry about the migraines. I get them too. I have a medication that I take the second I feel it coming on. It wipes it out quickly and I can go on about my day. However, if I don’t catch it in time. I’m out for the count. Hope you feel better soon.

  7. I feel better. The meditation really worked. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

