If I Don’t Believe in God, Why Do I Talk About Him At All?

If I don’t believe in god, why do I talk about him at all?
Well, maybe because the idea was fed into my brain from infancy by well-meaning parents. Maybe one never really gets past the need to fight against the brainwashing that was done to him especially when he sees it being done to others. Maybe every time I hear someone say “God bless you” I am reminded of the fact that the majority of human kind is still trapped in the superstition and delusion that is religion and belief in gods.
Do I find pleasure in the seemingly pointless and endless debates? Does it made me happy to argue the same points without being heard in any real way by those trapped in god belief? Is it fun for me to get the same non-answers skeptics got a hundred years ago?
No. So why do I do it? How can I not? If you woke up one morning and saw something that was fundamentally wrong with the world, would you roll over and go back to sleep or would you stand and fight for change? Some people stand and fight for water for Africa. Some people stand and fight to end abortion. Others stand against drugs. I stand against what I perceive as the greatest enemy of human kind: the notion that gods are real and that old books should guide our every step.
I do not fight out of hate. I fight because I care. I am a part of humanity and I care where we go and what we do on the way there. If you can’t understand that, if you still cling to your preconceived notions about me, well, then I guess we will be enemies. But for my part, I do not fight you. I fight the trap you are in. Maybe someday we can be friends when the traps are torn down and destroyed? I suppose we will have to wait and see.

6 responses to “If I Don’t Believe in God, Why Do I Talk About Him At All?

  1. waddup zeb. glad to be able to follow you on here if not on fb. don’t worry no one can report you for lame crap here 😉

  2. It never ceases to amaze me the extreme level at which non believer’s as well as believers profess their beliefs. I know which I believe is correct and live my life accordingly. What I do not do however, is tear down others for how they personally feel.

    Eventuallywe will either die and see who is correct, or we will cease to exist and the conflict will be over. So why not get along now while our time is short?

  3. Carbide, I am not here to tear down others. I am here to talk about life as I see it in the hope that others will turn away from fantasy and start seeing reality.
    I would love it if we could all get along. That’s just doesn’t happen. Does it? From my point of view theists demand respect and belief in their doctrine and gods. If either one of these things is not given, all hell breaks loose. There is a reason atheists are the most hated group in America. That reason is the “loving” theists.
    I don’t think less of you for you beliefs. Can you do the same for me and my non-beliefs?

  4. Why must it be a fight at all. Why not an intellectual exercise? Although, given your last response to the comments, I would believe that you are at a point where intellectual exercise would be futirle, as you see your knowledge as “reality” and all others as “fantasy”.
    You say you are on here to fight, I would challenge you to engage in these discussions as one who is open and willing to learn. See Descartes “Cartesian Doubt”. Don’t settle for the idea that you ever have the whole picture of reality. Then life becomes about fighting not about learning.

  5. @Tobeforgiven
    Thank you for commenting. Let me cover your questions and assumptions in the order given.
    “Why must it be a fight at all. Why not an intellectual exercise?”
    Let us try an intellectual exercise right now. What do you think would have happened if abolitionists engaged in intellectual exercise instead of fighting for the freedom of the slaves? What do you think would have happened if the colonists were content with intellectual exercise and never fought the revolutionary war? How will intellectual exercise stop the suicide bombings or the child witch burnings? The future of the human race is on the line and you wish for intellectual exercise.

    ” Although, given your last response to the comments, I would believe that you are at a point where intellectual exercise would be futirle, as you see your knowledge as “reality” and all others as “fantasy”.”
    You know what they say about assuming… I am well aware of the fact that I don’t see everything and that the things I do see may, very well, be distorted in my mind. The thing is (and you seem to be missing this) everybody sees their knowledge as “reality” and all others as “fantasy”. That is how the human mind operates.
    I came to the conclusion that gods are fantasy after much search and personal sacrifice. I grew up in the Church. I studied history. My conclusion is educated.

    ” You say you are on here to fight, I would challenge you to engage in these discussions as one who is open and willing to learn.”
    I am. I am a lifelong student. I love to learn. What would you show me? What do you have to teach? Is it actual verifiable evidence for your god? I would love to see it as nobody has supplied anything close to real evidence yet. Ever.

    “See Descartes “Cartesian Doubt”. Don’t settle for the idea that you ever have the whole picture of reality.”
    More assumptions… You don’t think a doubt my own worldview? I do. All the time. I live in a world full of people who claim to see and hear things I no longer see or hear.
    I wonder. If you and I lived in a world were 98% of the population believed in green flying space ponies (that can’t be seen but do grant wishes… sometimes), would you still be advising me to stay open-minded and ready to learn? I doubt it. Well my you would if you were a pony believe too.
    “Then life becomes about fighting not about learning.”
    At some point one must stand and fight to save other beings from unnecessary torment and death. At some point one must call “bullshit” when others claim authority from their god to do or say things to children that causes pain, fear, or death.
    Learning is great. As I said I love to learn but some things need to be stopped. So here I am trying to raise awareness of the fact that gods do not exist or if they do, they don’t care enough about humans to help us or even tell us who or what they are.
    Please don’t be discouraged if I am slow to reply. I don’t have internet at home right now as someone took all my computers and routers and whatnot.

Leave a Reply

