Theists and False Flagging/Reporting

I am sure this topic has been covered before but I thought I would add my two cents in the form of a question. Are you ready theists? Here goes.

If you have the “TRUTH” on your side, why do you need to be dishonest in your dealings with atheists on the web?

5 responses to “Theists and False Flagging/Reporting

  1. I don’t believe that I am dishonest in my dealings on the web with anyone atheist or not and I am most definitely a theist by your definition.

  2. You are right, Jeff. Not all thiests stoop to false flagging/reporting. But many do. I have seen it and experienced it first hand. Do you debate with Athiests on the web often?

  3. Not often and false flagging is a petty tactic which I would not resort to. I think that the main issue is most thinking Christians recognize the futility in arguing faith. It is the passionate but less thoughtful that spend a relatively larger portion of their time debating with atheists. There are of course exceptions to this and it has been said that there is a time and a place for everything. I’m not excusing petty tactics though lying and false flagging are extremely unlikely to be helpful in the cause of the person using such a tactic. Interestingly I have had this tactic used against me when debating environmental issues. And while I find it frustrating I also find it ironic because as you say if the truth us one your side why resort to this type non governmental censorship

  4. Well of course it’s futile to argue faith. If a person believes a thing without evidence, no amount of evidence to the contrary is going to change his mind. As you may recall, I was a theist once myself. I know all about it. 🙂

    I guess, when it comes down to it, people have a hard time letting go of their preconceived notions of how the world works or how it should work. Be it religion, environmentalism, or anything else. So when they get to a place where their reasons fail (due to lack of knowledge on the subject or lack of an actual reality of a subject), they try to shut the other guy up any way they can.

  5. I have experienced this first hand as well. It’s not fun.

Leave a Reply

